No icon

Japanese Nobel laureate stresses upon value of research in science

Visakhapatnam:  “I hope that young scholars of India would contribute more to the field of research in ensuing years,” said Dr Takaaki Kajita, Nobel Laureate in Physics. The GITAM Foundation Award – 2017 was bestowed on Dr Takaaki Kajita at GITAM University’s 37th Foundation Day, which was celebrated with much pomp and gaiety at its lush green campus located at Rushikonda in Visakhapatnam on Saturday.

Dr Kajita shared the 2015 Nobel Prize with Canada’s Arthur McDonald in Physics for revolutionary neutrino experiments at the Kamiokande and Super-Kamiokande detectors in the Kamioka mines of Japan. He is presently Director of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo.

Speaking on the occasion, GITAM President Dr MVVS Murthy said that the university’s aim has been to impart world-class education with humane values propounded by Mahatma Gandhi to the students in the university. Later, GITAM Chancellor K Ramakrishna Rao praised MVVS Murthy for respecting academic scholarship and taking interest in encouraging research in various fields. He thanked the GITAM President for giving him opportunity to develop School of Gandhian Studies at the University. 

After receiving the award, along with Rs 10 lakh, Dr Takaaki Kajita, who was the Distinguished Guest of the event, gave an annual endowment lecture, which stressed more about the value of research in scientific field. Sharing his views on research, he called upon the young scholars to work as a team for getting ideas from various people. Dr Takaaki Kajita launched the curriculum for Diploma in Japanese Language course on the occasion.

GITAM University Vice Chancellor Prof MS Prasada Rao briefly recapitulated the genesis and growth of GITAM, its achievements and priority areas for action to fulfill the varsity’s vision and mission.

As part of the celebrations faculty, students and supporting staff were honoured by the management. As the best speaker among all the students, Raveena Reddy was awarded with Rs 20,000 cash prize and certificate of appreciation.  Other students G Sai Abhignya and Astha Pandey were also given cash prizes for their exemplary public speaking skills.

In the Best Teachers category, Prof V Srinivas, Prof D Elizabeth Rani, Prof Sekhar Talluri, Prof UV Narayana Rao and Prof Mathrusri Annapurna were felicitated and awarded mementos.   In the Best Supporting Staff category, PNR Govinda Raju, Buddha Raju Ramadevi, M Rama Raju and P Venkateswar Rao were also given awards.